Graphic Antics “What Does It Mean?”

In 2016 Ant The Symbol combined forces with fellow Richmond, VA (now Portland, Maine based) artist Graphic Melee to record and release an album. With Ant in control on the beats and Melee rockin’ the mic… Graphic Antics was born. Their first album Uh Oh… provided them with a strong base to build from… one which they would use to full effect this year. Here’s a little more about the musical project:

The incredible Graphic Antics is the inevitable outcome of combining the lyrical dexterity of Graphic Melee and production wizardry of Ant The Symbol. So what does antics mean? Well, let’s be specific… these antics are graphic and they consist of a couple interesting characters. Melee… a musician raised on funk, hip-hop, jazz and rock who transforms the images from his life into dense walls of sound so real you’ll swear you can see the music when you close your eyes. Ant… counts J. Dilla, Madlib, Massive Attack & Prefuse 73 among his influences, yet those influences do little to describe his sonic textures, which are as unique to him as are his fingerprints.

Today we have the pleasure of releasing their sophomore album What Does It Mean? that blasts off from the first album’s base, finding Melee and Ant hitting their stride as a creative team, delivering something special to their fans and new listeners. With Ant’s dense textures and complex rhythms along with Melee’s strong delivery and lyrical content… there’s a lot here for heads to dig.

Many thanks to Graphic Melee and Ant The Symbol for delivering the best GA album yet as your first for the bloc! Melee… welcome to the blocSonic fam!

Of course, thanks once again to you for downloading & listening. We always strive to deliver the music you’ll love. Please spread the word about blocSonic, if you enjoy what we do. Remember… everything we release is cool to share! Always keep the music moving… share it… blog it… podcast it! If you’re in radio… support independent music and broadcast it!

  • Catalog Number: BSOG0064
  • Release Date: May 16th, 2017
  • Running Time: 46:19
  1. Rhetoric :57
  2. How We Get Here 3:12
  3. Digital 3:30
  4. Words 2 Say 3:46
  5. Giants 2:52
  6. Light 2:51
  7. Carnivore 4:11
  8. What Does It Mean 3:36
  9. Rivers 3:29
  10. Thump 4:05
  11. Party Crasher 3:36
  12. Paint 3:49
  13. Nothing Compares 2:49
  14. The End 3:36


Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

If the above license doesn’t already do so, we explicitly authorize the use of this release during for-profit DJ performances, radio broadcasts and in online DJ mixes. We do ask that you notify us of your use for our own curiosity and that blocSonic and the album artist are attributed and linked to where possible.