M.J S.K M.M J.D “"C" Is For Cookies”

Back in August, James Dangle contacted blocSonic via Twitter to check out something he, ScoopKid, Mighty Monde, as M.J S.K M.M J.D, had worked on. They had been inspired by the antics of James’ 2 year old son Miles J to record a complete 1-take driven improvisational/organic hip-hop session in less than 7 hours.

Listening to it, I quickly realized that something like this format would make for a very intriguing release series that could allow for artists to deliver experiments in sound while also constraining the experimentation to some basic guidelines:

  • Recorded primarily in single takes with very little in the way of post-production
  • Final release running time of 20-40 minutes
  • While improvisational, some loose connection to traditional song structure… think Jazz… but not necessarily JAZZ. Knowhadimean?

So I invited the guys to release “C” Is For Cookies as the premiere improvBloc release, which I’m very happy to present you today!

Little birdies have told me that other improvBlocs are or will be in the works! So expect more.

A very special thanks to James Dangle… had you not approached blocSonic to release this gem, the improvBloc series would not be. Of course, thanks to Miles J and all of M.J S.K M.M J.D… in times like these, thank goodness we have music.

Of course, thanks once again to you for downloading & listening. We always strive to deliver the music you’ll love. Please spread the word about blocSonic, if you enjoy what we do. Remember… everything we release is cool to share! Always keep the music moving… share it… blog it… podcast it! If you’re in radio… support independent music and broadcast it!.

  • Catalog Number: BSIM0001
  • Release Date: December 5th, 2014
  • Running Time: 21:34
  1. Hello :37
  2. Good Enough For Me 1:22
  3. Scoop Laces 2:38
  4. Steveweisers :50
  5. Sang Some 3:10
  6. Kings Charter 1:32
  7. Ride On 1:40
  8. More Cookies 1:08
  9. Chet Baked 1:00
  10. New Policy 2:31
  11. C Is For Cookies 3:21
  12. Hello 1:45


Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

If the above license doesn’t already do so, we explicitly authorize the use of this release during for-profit DJ performances, radio broadcasts and in online DJ mixes. We do ask that you notify us of your use for our own curiosity and that blocSonic and the album artist are attributed and linked to where possible.