Awesome Dré And The Hardcore Committee “You Can't Hold Me Back (30th Anniversary Remastered Edition)”

In the late 80s, Detroit rap pioneer Awesome Dre (and the Hardcore Committee) was among the first to stomp onto the national scene by signing to Priority Records. With his mix of political and hardcore he provided a unique perspective and voice during the height of hip-hop’s golden era. A voice that would not shy away from controversy, asserting Detroit’s place in hip-hop by challenging New York legends Kool Moe Dee and LL Cool J.

Highly regarded as a top hip-hop lyricist, Awesome Dré has been putting out work for over 30 years. His debut album, You Can’t Hold Me Back, is considered by many to be a classic. For the first time since 1989 that Billboard charting debut gets a physical release on vinyl by blocGLOBAL record label blocSonic! As one would expect, for this 30th Anniversary edition, the album has also gotten beautifully remastered. For the remaster, TDX ( mastering engineer Shawn Franklin took special care to give the album a sonic presence that the original release lacked. Translation… the album sounds better than ever before!

Originally planned for release on Record Store Day, April 18th 2020, the COVID-19 pandemic threw a wrench in the works and forced all involved to change plans. Rather than making you wait even longer, we decided to kick things off with an online release at on Awesome Monday, May 18th. Then, on July 10th, it’ll be available in stores!

We know that we’ve kept you all waiting a long time for this incredible release, but the wait is now over and we thank you for hanging in there. We really can’t wait for you all to get your hands on this beautiful release. We’re so happy to be able to give Awesome Dre “You Can’t Hold Me Back” the care it deserves.

Presented on translucent RED vinyl with an OBI-strip, a color printed inner sleeve, and a download card to the full album plus three exclusive bonus cuts.

Originally scheduled for the now postponed April Record Store Day 2020, Get On Down & blocGlobal are proud to be able to offer this classic album, shipping now.

Download card includes access to 320 MP3 & FLAC files plus extended liner notes including an interview with Awesome Dre.

  • Catalog Number: BGBSR0001
  • Release Date: May 18th, 2020
  • Running Time: 47:01

Purchase/Streaming Options

Support independent artistry by purchasing this fine release.

Side One

  1. Intro 1:13
  2. Murder One 2:38
  3. Executioner Style 3:56
  4. On The Rampage 5:02
  5. Frankly Speaking 5:29
  6. Master of Philology 3:12

Side Two

  1. Intro :56
  2. Killer On Wax 3:49
  3. Committing Rhymes 5:10
  4. Sex Fiend 3:56
  5. Sackchasers (Keep Goin’ Baby) 4:33
  6. I Don’t Like You! (Kool Moe She) 3:18
  7. You Can’t Hold Me Back 3:49


© 2020 blocGLOBAL, LLC. All Rights Reserved.